Real Neat Blog Award!

real-neat-blog-award

Thrilled that Cheryl nominated me for Real Neat Blog Award. Thank you, Cheryl, for the nomination. i❤fictionalpeople

Before I proceed to answering Cheryl’s questions, here are the prerequisites of this award:

  1. Put the award logo on your blog.
  2. Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blogs.
  3. Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
  4. Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
  5. Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog, etc.)

Now, on to my answers:

1. What is your favorite genre and why?

My most favorite right now is MM romance. This genre is kilig inducing for me (Sorry, I have no direct translation for kilig. They say it means swooning while being thrilled or excited but personally I think there’s more than that, haha). The image below pretty much describes kilig (credits to the owners of the photo).

use of photo not meant to infringe. (Shin Min Ah on one of her TV dramas)

2. Where is your favorite place to read?

My bed. I love reading in bed.

3. What are you reading right now? What do you think so far?

I’m currently reading Latin for Beginners by Benjamin L. D’ooge. I think it’s awesome, I was prepared to not like it because I dislike studying, unfortunately I did. LOL. If I dislike studying, why am I reading it in the first place? Well, I’m currently working on a book trilogy, my memoir. It’s hard to write. An understatement. I figured if I do another thing alongside writing, something harder than writing which, in my mind that would be studying, I figured I’d ditch studying in favor of finishing my books.

To me, the probability of me learning a new language is lower than me finishing my books. Lol.

On deciding what to study? Well, my brother Joseph speaks Spanish as my niece Bea and my sister-in-law Ate Jen. Our father spoke Spanish. So, why not try Spanish? But then I reasoned to myself it will be easier for me to learn Spanish if I learn Latin first. Er, I’ve long ceased trying to figure out how I can arrive at such conclusions time and again. But there you go. I’m afraid I’d finish reading this book and learn new words and still not be done with my writing.

I’m also reading The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan. I’m not yet done with it. But that’s just it, if I really like the book I’m reading I’d finish it in one sitting. I won’t be able to put it down. There are some short stories there that I liked, but there are some I didn’t care for much. My favorite is the story about her struggle with celiac disease. It brought tears to my eyes. Marina’s mother is not only wonderful but a superwoman. My nephew has food allergies from soy sauce to mayo, chicken, eggs, seafood even fruits etc. It’s easier to remember the food he is allowed to eat like rice, pork, beef because that list is shorter. What if it were me? Now that’s something I don’t even want to imagine.

4. What made you want to start a book blog?

I wanted a blog where I could cross post my reviews in goodreads. ❤

5. Do you prefer physical books or eBooks?

I love both really, but I think I love being able to hold and smell the physical copy of the book more. Lol. Especially if it’s a favorite book as I tend to reread them.

6. Who is your favorite author?

This question is hard. I have a long list but right off the top of my head: Josh Lanyon, Megan Derr, A.F. Henley, Jamie Lake, Mina Esguerra, JK Rowling, Debbie Macomber, Judith McNaught, Masashi KishimotoEiichiro Oda and a lot more.

7. Favorite series?

Josh Lanyon’s Holmes & Moriarity

JK Rowling’s Harry Potter

Obviously there’s a lot more but I only listed the ones at the top.

Here are my nominees:

Claire aka Coffeeholic Bookworm

Coffee, Books, & Me

Kim’s Pensieve 2.0

Wynter Universe

Library Mistress

Blu Chicken Ninja

My questions: (I know there should only be seven, please feel free to skip the other questions)

  1. What is your favorite genre?
  2. What is your earliest memory on reading?
  3. How old were you when you started reading for pleasure?
  4. What is your favorite book of all-time?
  5. What makes you read a book?
  6. Do you read MM fiction? If yes, what made you decide to read one? If not, would you try reading one?
  7. Who is your favorite author and why?
  8. Do you read books with tragic endings? Why or why not.
  9. Ebooks or printed?
  10. Favorite rereads?
  11. Do you read memoirs?
  12. Standalone or series? Why?