Book Review: What Kind of Day by Mina V. Esguerra

What Kind of Day (Six 32 Central, #1)What Kind of Day by Mina V. Esguerra

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 out of 5 stars

When I read What Kind of Day‘s synopsis, I knew I had to read this book (I was absolutely horrified for Ben).

What Kind of Day tells the story of Ben and Naya and well, their respective career crisis. Ben is a speechwriter for a Philippine senator (or at least until that day when he accidentally joined Naya’s city tour because unfortunately, he got fired!) while Naya makes a living from her passion and that’s guiding people through Metro Manila’s scenic and historic spots. Anyway, when Ben got fired from his job, he accidentally stepped inside Naya’s tour van thinking it was his shuttle ride home.

And this is what I love about Mina V. Esguerra’s writings, it’s not the usual girl-meets-boy, they fall in love, then there’s drama, then the couple resolves their conflict, and then they lived happily-ever-after. I’m not saying there’s something wrong with that, I’m not saying that. In fact, writing structures and romance formula exists for a good reason. It’s just that Mina writes likable characters with real-life problems making their story relatable and yes, unforgettable. I’m pretty sure at one point in our life we all had career problems, maybe we lost our job like Ben (oh, no!), maybe we got disillusioned like Naya, or maybe we don’t know what to do anymore because we got bored with what we were doing and it’s no longer challenging. Oh, and I learned something, too: make good days. I love that advice. 😍

That being said, here’s to Mina’s next book. Cheers!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: What Kind of Day by Mina V. Esguerra

Leave a comment