Author Interview: Ana Huang author of All I’ve Never Wanted

Hi Ms. Ana, thank you so much for granting me this interview. Happy to have you here at Cinderella Stories.

To our dear readers, Ana is better known as ACRL37 in Wattpad where she has over thirty seven thousand followers. She posted four stories there that garnered a combined views of over twenty million! How did she do it?

Without further ado, here is Ms. Ana to share with us how her writing experience had been so far:

1. First of all, would you please tell us what All I’ve Never Wanted is all about? What led you to write this book and how long did you write this?

All I’ve Never Wanted is about Maya Lindberg, an ordinary girl who attends a school for wealthy students that’s run by the Scions, a clique of four very popular and powerful guys. She has an unfortunate run-in with them and gets sucked into their world of drama. Even though she dislikes them at the beginning, she gradually starts to realize that her original assumptions about them may have been wrong. There is romance in this book, but it is primarily a story about friendship, and it was inspired by a Taiwanese drama called Meteor Garden. I loved the show’s general plot, so I decided to write my own story based off it.

2. I understand you first posted this story in Wattpad? How long have you been writing in Wattpad?

Yes. I finished AINW when I was seventeen but didn’t share it until I discovered Wattpad two years later. I started writing on Wattpad about five years ago, but I haven’t been as active as I’d like recently since life has gotten really busy for me, but I’m hoping to change that once I figure out how to have a healthier work-life balance!

3. Are you cross-posting your stories in other websites? If yes, in which site did your stories garner more views/reads? If no, what made you choose Wattpad out of all the other writing communities?

When I first joined Wattpad, I did cross post one or two chapters of my stories on other sites like Fictionpress and Figment. However, it was quite time-consuming and I decided it was better to just to post on Wattpad. Plus, I thought Wattpad had the best format and the most active and supportive community. It was really easy to share and discover new books, and to comment/like stories, which isn’t as easy on some other sites.

4. Let’s talk about your writing experience in wattpad. How are you liking it so far? How long have you been writing before your stories have gotten the attention of the readers?

I love Wattpad! I was pretty lucky in that my stories–especially All I’ve Never Wanted–gained attention pretty quickly. I would say it started really gaining attraction after a month or so on the site. I really have to thank my readers and fans for that, because they are so amazing, supportive, and patient.

5. What do you think are the factors that led to your success in Wattpad?

There’s a lot of factors that lead to success in any field, not just writing on Wattpad. However, I did try to interact with readers as much as possible by replying to their messages, comments, etc. and I think that helped a lot. It got a lot harder to reply to every message and comment after my stories got really popular but I do read all of them and I take all of their suggestions and constructive criticism to heart when writing my next chapter or story. Of course, it’s important to write a story that engages and entertains readers, but a large part of it is also luck. There are some fantastic stories on the site that don’t gain as much attention, so sometimes it’s just about where the dice falls.

6. Do you have other works you would like to plug?

Lol not plug exactly, but I am rewriting my study abroad romance If We Ever Meet Again–based off my own study abroad experiences–and I hope to publish it sometime next year, so keep an eye out for that!

7. Your tips for aspiring authors? 

Don’t give up, don’t take it personally, and do other things you enjoy. I love writing, but even when I had time to work on my stories regularly, it wasn’t the only thing I did. I hung out with my friends, traveled, watched movies, etc. and I got a lot of inspiration from what happens in daily life. Putting your work out there is hard, especially when you read a negative comment, but it’s important for writers to know how to take constructive criticism that will improve their writing (and to learn how to ignore others that are simply attacking the writer out of spite or some other non-relevant reason, because those types of people will always exist, especially on the Internet). It takes a lot of patience, courage, and hard work to finish a story and put it out there for all the world to see, but it’s all worth it in the end.

There you go! Thank you, Ana, for answering my questions! ❤ Readers, I hope you enjoyed reading her answers. I hope you’ll check out her book All I’ve Never Wanted below.

Jho-sigstylediv

About the Book

Title: All I’ve Never Wanted

Author: Ana Huang

Genre: YA

Goodreadsbadge

The Scions were the four richest, most powerful guys at Valesca Academy, and they ruled the school with iron fists. Everyone wanted to date them or be them…everyone, that is, except Maya Lindberg, who just wanted to avoid them until she could graduate. 

She almost succeeded, until an ill-advised outburst on her part put her right in the Scions’ path. Just like that, one became her fake boyfriend, one her unwanted matchmaker, one her guardian angel, and the one she couldn’t stand the most? Yeah, he’s her new housemate.

Author Bio

Ana Huang, better known as ACRL37 on Wattpad, primarily writes Young Adult and Romance. She started writing her first novel, All I’ve Never Wanted, when she was sixteen; it was originally inspired by the Asian manga Hana Yori Dango. Her second novel, If We Ever Meet Again, was loosely based on her own study abroad experiences in college. Her stories currently have a combined view of over 20 million on Wattpad.

Besides reading and writing, she also enjoys shopping, brunch, and traveling.

Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/All-Ive-Never-Wanted-Huang-ebook/dp/B00WY2WU50

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/all-ive-never-wanted-ana-huang/1122059657

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/all-ive-never-wanted/id1001710587

Wattpad: http://wattpad.com/acrl37

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ana_huang37

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25464015-all-i-ve-never-wanted

8 thoughts on “Author Interview: Ana Huang author of All I’ve Never Wanted

  1. Love the interview friend! And thumbs up to author’s honesty about the book being inspired by Meteor Garden / Hana Yori Dango. But because of that, I stay away from the book. I love the series so much and I don’t want to see any “spin-off”. DNP was more than enough for me.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, friend! ❤ I'm glad you loved the interview. 🙂

      I had to think what DNP is haha. Pero naisip ko rin. 😛 Nadala ka ba? I have yet to read the book but my niece and I did watch the movie. 🙂 Some parts made us laugh.

      I loved Hana Yori Dango, too. I have the manga in Nihongo, a pasalubong from my friend Adrian. He bought them for me when he was in Japan for his PhD. ❤

      Anyway, I watched the Japanese, Korean, and Taiwanese versions of the show, even read the manga. Loved it. 😀 And I'm looking forward to reading my review copy of All I’ve Never Wanted. Love, love, love the cover. ❤

      • Yep. Nadala ako haha :D. I’ve watch DNP movie too. It made me smile at some scene and contrary to what some fans said. I actually like the movie more than the book but none is my favorite. The movie was okay for one time watch.

        And yeah. The cover of this book easy and refreshing in the eye 🙂

      • Yay! Thank you, friend! ❤ I was going to buy it because I loved the cover, but for reasons unknown to me, I changed my mind at the last minute and left it at the counter lol. Then I've read the negative reviews and it kind of deterred me. 😛

  2. Hi Josephine!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to interview me and to post it on your blog. I hope you enjoy the book 🙂

    Best,
    Ana

    • Hi Ana, thank you so much for dropping by! Thank you again, for granting me with this interview. ❤ Looking forward to reading your book AND I hope to see you back here in my blog in the near future. 😀

Leave a Reply

