Book Review: All I’ve Never Wanted by Ana Huang

My Review
Warning: Contains Spoilers
My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟out of 5 stars

This book is long but somehow it didn’t feel like it. That’s how much I had fun reading All I’ve Never Wanted by Ana Huang. I’m really glad I chose to read this. Admittedly I had hesitations because it’s a retelling of Kamio Yōko’s best-seller manga titled Hana Yori Dango and my reading experience of its many other retelling I encountered previously had been less than savory.

All I’ve Never Wanted however, is far from that. Although the book follows the plot of Hana Yori Dango [scholarship girl Maya (main character) meets rich boys who are heirs to business moguls (F4), MC stands up to them, gets bullied by the entire school populace, endured her situation like a “weed,” became friends with them, became the gf, gets kidnapped etc.], the book still came out as an enjoyable read for me.

I loved the characters in this book, Maya’s grandmother being my most favorite. ❤ Oh, she was hilarious, I tell you. That nickname she gave Parker (Peewee) was the best. 😀

The main character Maya on the other hand, is a strong, intelligent, loyal girl who is not afraid to speak her mind. Her love interest Roman is lovable in spite of his shortcomings (jerk, snob, asshole, etc.) because the author was able to show Roman’s soft side and who he really is beneath the surface.

I thought the characterization is excellent, so much that I found myself rooting for Carlo as well. I loved the other characters too, Parker, Zach, Venice, Adriana, Rico, and yes, even James (at the start of the story at least).

Then there’s the, er, sex. I mean the characters were only seventeen (am I the only one who freaked out on this?). It was not explicit but it was mentioned so yeah. Suddenly I feel positively ancient lol. ❤ I wish Daria was written more instead but other than that, I enjoyed every bit of this book.

Jho-sigstyledivAbout the Book

Title: All I’ve Never Wanted

Author: Ana Huang

Genre: YA

Goodreadsbadge

The Scions were the four richest, most powerful guys at Valesca Academy, and they ruled the school with iron fists. Everyone wanted to date them or be them…everyone, that is, except Maya Lindberg, who just wanted to avoid them until she could graduate.

She almost succeeded, until an ill-advised outburst on her part put her right in the Scions’ path. Just like that, one became her fake boyfriend, one her unwanted matchmaker, one her guardian angel, and the one she couldn’t stand the most? Yeah, he’s her new housemate.

Author Bio

Ana Huang, better known as ACRL37 on Wattpad, primarily writes Young Adult and Romance. She started writing her first novel, All I’ve Never Wanted, when she was sixteen; it was originally inspired by the Asian manga Hana Yori Dango. Her second novel, If We Ever Meet Again, was loosely based on her own study abroad experiences in college. Her stories currently have a combined view of over 20 million on Wattpad.

Besides reading and writing, she also enjoys shopping, brunch, and traveling.

Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/All-Ive-Never-Wanted-Huang-ebook/dp/B00WY2WU50

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/all-ive-never-wanted-ana-huang/1122059657

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/all-ive-never-wanted/id1001710587

Wattpad: http://wattpad.com/acrl37

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ana_huang37

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25464015-all-i-ve-never-wanted

2 thoughts on “Book Review: All I’ve Never Wanted by Ana Huang

Leave a Reply

