Perfect Day by Josh Lanyon

Wyatt loves Graham. Graham is still in love with Jase. But things could be worse. They could be camping.

My Review (Warning: Spoiler Alert!!):

My Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t find the right words to describe how much I loved Perfect Day. This is… wow. The first time I’ve read this short story, it rendered me speechless. I’ve reread this many times since and I still feel the same way about it. I don’t think I’ll get tired of rereading it… or hearing it. Yep, I have this in ebook and in audio @audible (it’s the first story in the audiobook titled: In Sunshine or in Shadow: Short Stories: Volume I) and I’d very much love to buy the corresponding hard copy of this book if only the shipment fee isn’t much more expensive than the book itself. Argh. Frustrating. But yeah….  Hopefully I’d be able to collect the hard copy of the MM books that I love this year. #2015 reading goal! Hell yeah! ❤

On to my review…. I love the tone of the story. Written matter-of-factly it suited and described the feelings of the main character Wyatt about his love affair with Graham: resigned. Doomed. Wyatt didn’t like it, it wasn’t his choice, but he was willing to accept his situation and move forward. The man is brave in my book. And I thought the narrator did a wonderful job with the audiobook. I loved the inflections in his voice–how it changes along with the change in Wyatt’s and Graham’s emotions.

Perfect Day has a lot of lines that pack a punch. You know, like a punch in the gut. And these lines never failed to make me sigh, expel a long, deep breath, or… smile. ^____^

You can’t start a stopwatch on grief. Or love for that matter. Damn right. I’d enumerate all the lines from Perfect Day that I love, but well, I might end up putting in the entire story. It’s because Josh has a way with words and it shows in this short story very, very much.

Anyway, I’m a sucker for angsty reads and this, this easily belongs to the top five of my list. Angsty read with a happy ending, that is. ❤

Jho-sigstylediv

About Josh Lanyon

Bestselling, multi-award-winning JOSH LANYON is the author of over fifty titles of mystery, adventure, fantasy and romance. Josh is the author of the critically acclaimed Adrien English Mysteries series, including The Hell You Say, winner of the 2006 USABookNews awards for GLBT Fiction. Josh is an Eppie Award winner and a three-time Lambda Literary Award finalist. When not writing Josh enjoys gardening, film noir, fine wine, vintage mysteries, and night swimming.

Leave a comment