Book Review: My Boyfriend’s Back by Elliot Cooper

My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 out of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Warning: Spoilers ahead.

I enjoyed reading My Boyfriend’s Back very much.

I must admit I didn’t read the blurb before reading this book because, hey, it’s Elliot Cooper, I love him! Needless to say I was surprised when I started reading. Not only is it a story I didn’t expect, it was both dark and tragic as well.

The problem is, I don’t like it when main characters die and a few pages into the story I kind of got where it was going. I almost stopped reading because, well, I hate tragic stories but I’ve read two of Elliot Cooper’s works before and he’s always created something new and magical out of something old and somehow I knew he would do the same thing with this book. Didn’t stop me from getting horrified when Dax died though. Few pages in and I already loved the guy, that’s how powerful this writer’s writing is, he managed to make me care for the love interest in the span of a few paragraphs.

Anyway, I’m glad I pressed on even if some scenes horrified me tremendously. Lol. It is fast-paced as well so the reader need not worry about getting bored.

Five stars from me; I therefore recommend My Boyfriend’s Back .

Happy reading!

View all my reviews

About the Book

After losing both of his parents, Academy of Magecraft student Steven Durant doesn’t want to see anyone else lose a loved one before their time. Traditional resurrection methods, however, only create mindless, flesh-hungry zombies; they’re no cure for death. He’s certain his unique brand of necromancy—using alchemy and blood magic—is the only answer.

When his boyfriend, Dax Everhart, has a fatal accident, Steven sees no choice but to use his experimental Lazarus Elixir. Dax comes back wrong, but the more humans he consumes, the more human he becomes.

With the help of his best friends, his ghostly aunt, and her living doll homunculus, Steven fights to regain normalcy and repair his shattered relationship with Dax. But with Dax openly embracing his monstrous nature, Steven shoulders the guilt of assisting in a murder spree that could lead the mundane and magical police right to their door.

Goodreadsbadge

About the Author

Elliot Cooper writes speculative fiction featuring queer characters. His novels and novellas come with hopeful and happy endings, though his short fiction runs the gamut of styles and genres. He strives above all to make his readers feel, while also increasing positive representation of LGBTQ characters and their stories.

Website

http://www.elliotcooperwrites.com

Twitter
8 thoughts on “Book Review: My Boyfriend’s Back by Elliot Cooper

  1. Great review! I also write book reviews, but mainly over nonfiction.

    I really like nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

  2. “I must admit I didn’t read the blurb before reading this book because, hey, it’s Elliot Cooper, I love him!” Hahaha 😀 It’s funny but I sometimes do the same with my fav authors.

    I laugh how you keep repeating death like you hate the word itself. Haha

    Great review friend!

    • Hi, friend! Thanks for dropping by! ❤ Haha, I didn't realize. It's just that you know how it is these past few years with me so I'm allergic to the word. Anyway, you really should try reading Elliot Cooper, he's quite a different read. With him it's a never-ending action. ❤

  3. Pingback: Book Review: My Boyfriend’s Back by Elliot Cooper | Fantasy Sources: Art, Gifts, Ideas, Article Resources, News

Leave a Reply

