Blog Tour ~ Interview and Giveaway: Underneath It All by Ysa Arcangel

Hello, Ysa! I’m so happy to have you here at Cinderella Stories. Welcome to my blog and thank you so much for granting me this interview. First of all, congratulations on your new book, “Underneath It All.”

1. Would you please tell us about your book Underneath It All. How long did you write this?

Underneath It All is a story forgiveness, love and the courage to follow your heart’s desires. It’s a story about a graduating college student Agata Ferrero and the newly appointed young dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, Reeve Gates.

This story not only focuses on two people fighting for their taboo love, but about love fighting the dark eyes of hatred and crashing a heart of stone. A kind of love that endures pain and forgives sins that brings the family back together.

2. When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

As cliche as it may sound, when I haven’t read what I really wanted to read.

I’m an avid reader and an active member of the read/write site called Wattpad. You  think you have read it all but there’s more! I aspired to be one of those writers I look up to. My aspirations became a dream and that dream is now a reality.

3. Ms. Ysa, you’ve got a ‘day job’, what is your work schedule like when you’re writing? How does that work? Do you have a daily word count goal?

I don’t just have a ‘day job’ but also a perpetual job.I’m a mother of three and a wife of very grumpy hubby who hates to see me up until the wee hours writing like crazy.

At work during down time, I write.  On the train, on my way to work, I write on my phone. I writer wherever I can. I don’t have a daily word count goal but I see to it to write at least 1k whenever I can.

4. What is your writing process, do you work on an outline first or just go write without one?

I consider myself a half-blood pantser. I need a plan, a general idea. I write a rough outline of  the beginning, middle and end then pants all the way through.

5. What is one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

Along the way, I have learned a few hard and soft lessons in creating my books one of which is not to expect every reader will love your book.  As the old adage goes, you cannot please everybody. I just continue creating quality stories and branch out to different genres to broaden my audience and sharpen my writing skills.

6. What do you think makes a good story?

I think for me, when I think about a ‘good story’ I think about the actual construction of sentences, how the author put words together, creates well-developed and multi-dimensional characters, draws the readers in and the overall organization of the story. That’s the technical part of it.

But I think that the best indicator of a ‘good story’ is if it touches your readers in some way. That your readers might be able to completely put themselves in the shoes of your heroine.

Funny thing, one person’s trash-read is another person’s great-read. I do believe that just because you have a great story doesn’t mean you write well and the same is true in reverse.

7. Do you have other works in progress?

I have two paranormal/urban fantasy WIPs.

8. Your tips for aspiring authors?

My advice to aspiring writers, just write it! You’ll never know how long it’ll take you to write a story unless you begin writing. Go ahead, make that first step. Do not be afraid to share your work to the world. Criticism may break you but it will always sharpen your skill. Your work may not see the light of the day in an actual published book but at least you enjoy the journey regardless.

Build your author platform and fanbase before you take advantage of all the publishing path and tools available for you. Write as much as you can and when you get published, publish more books. Especially, do not give up on what makes you happy.

UNDERNEATH IT ALL

 

A senior at Gates University, Agata Ferrero knows without a doubt that Reeve Gates is off limits…

Students can’t date faculty, and Reeve has been appointed by his father as the new Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. But when a near accident with the front end of Reeve’s sleek sports car brings her in close contact with him, Agata can’t deny the flash of desire that consumes her.

Reeve Gates is a man hell-bent on revenge…

Abandoned in the care of his step-mother as a child, Reeve accepts the position at Gates University for the sole purpose of ruining his father’s career. What he didn’t expect was to be sidetracked by the sultry eyes of a student.

Resisting temptation is even harder than it looks…

When a sorority pledging incident leaves Agata stranded on campus in the middle of a treacherous storm, her better judgment falters and she accepts help from the young Dean she can’t get out of her head. Certain there is a beating heart underneath his stone-cold exterior, she escapes with Reeve on a romantic retreat away from prying eyes.

 

Blinded by retaliation…

Reeve manipulates his dying father into handing over control of the university—and immediately threatens to shut down the school as a form of cruel payback. His scheme sparks a campus-wide protest that leaves one of Agata’s professors dead and her future hanging in the balance.

Agata must fight to convince Reeve he is capable of forgiveness, and their taboo love is worth more than revenge.

But is there really a bright future awaiting…

Underneath It All

 

 

rafflecopter-giveaway-e1420463655480

 

 

 

Forever Night Stand: https://amzn.com/B019NK762C

Snippets of Memories: A Forever Night Stand Bonus Book (99 CENTS) https://amzn.com/B01ASFS4Q8

 

Ysa Arcangel is a Filipino author based in Manila. She works as a Spanish-English GDS Helpdesk by day and a writer by night. She is a loving partner to a chef and a mom to three amazing kids.
She enjoys creative writing and uses her obsessive nature by writing contemporary paranormal and romance fiction with lots of laughs, tears and sighs showcasing sweet, funny and badass female leads with raunchy and hot male love interests whether human or supernatural.
She’s a lover of coffee, tattoos, and giant dogs. She is also an extreme sports enthusiast. When she’s not writing, you can see her spending time with her family, reading, or having TV series marathons.

 

–– FOLLOW YSA ––
Leave a Reply

