Book Review: The Year We Became Invincible by Mae Coyiuto

ISBN13: 9789712731488
Publisher: Anvil Publishing, Inc.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 179 pages

Dear Future Reader,

If you’re reading this book, it’s either:

1. You’re my future partner

2. I’m famous and my writings have been immortalized

3. You’ve violated my privacy and these are not meant for you

Let’s hope it’s not the last one. Before this year, I had my life all planned out. This book contains the story of the year that changed my life (well, my life so far). It’s the year I learned how to be invincible. That wasn’t really specific, but I guess you have to read on to see what I’m talking about.

Love,

Camille

Goodreadsbadge

About the Author

Mae, or more formally known as Samantha Mae Coyiuto, wrote her first story at the age of six. She learned to love the art of illustrating and writing for children’s books. She first released a series of three children’s books: Fantastically Funny Tales, Friendly and Magical Tales, and Hilarious Animal Tales.

In 2010, she released her first YA book containing a series of short stories in her book Flight to the Stars & Other Stories. But after publishing Flight to the Stars & Other Stories, she realized that she wanted to pursue writing for the YA genre. Thus, the birth of The Year We Became Invincible.

Currently, she flies back and forth between the Philippines and California, where she is currently finishing her degree in Psychology. She hopes to finish sometime soon and is looking forward to a life of constant surprise.

To learn more about Mae and her stories, you can follow her on Twitter @maecoyiuto or check out her website maecoyiutowrites.com.

You can buy Mae’s book here:

http://www.anvilpublishing.com/shop/the-year-we-became-invincible/

Jho-sigstylediv

My Review
Warning: Contains Spoilers
My rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟out of 5 stars

The Year We Became Invincible by Mae Coyiuto is one of my favorite reads this year. Admittedly, I got nervous after reading the blurb at the back of the book. Because I didn’t like it. I thought its beautiful cover was overcompensating for the book’s story or lack of it (Being an avid reader, I have learned that beautiful covers didn’t mean beautiful stories lol). 😀 Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised and I’ve never been so happy to be proven wrong.

This book, written in epistolary form, is an amazing read. It is about high school student Camille Li writing to her “Future Partner” about her daily life, her ups and downs, worries about the future, and her love problems. The story is realistic and highly relatable. Most of all, Mae Coyiuto’s writing style reminded me of the books shown below which I loved reading when I was sixteen. 😀 Heh. Mae was probably not born yet at the time. Lol.

For such a fast read, The Year We Became Invincible is packing with a lot of life lessons. I loved a lot of one-liners unfortunately I was reading this on a moving bus on my way to an orphanage so I couldn’t jot down the quotes. But here are some I found during my quick scan:

“Imagine emptying the contents of your garbage can. Then, pile on another hundred pounds of trash. Pour buckets of the nastiest leftovers you can think of. Finally, top it all off with a layer of crap. Then, imagine being underneath that whole pile. I guess that’s the only way I can really describe how I feel right now.”

“Don’t let the disillusion of your dreams ever stop you from dreaming.”

“You know when you’re a kid, a lot of people keep telling you ‘you’re the future’ or ‘you can do anything’. I started to doubt all of that when I grew up. Reality becomes clearer when you grow up. You start to set these limits — these limits that dictate who you should be and what you should do. These limits build up over the years, and you don’t want to think beyond them. You don’t want to go beyond because it’s terrifying. You don’t know who you become past these limits, and that’s really terrifying. I felt that fear during our adventures, but I learned that it’s okay to be scared. Fear is okay if you don’t let it take over. When I did things despite that fear, that’s when all these limits didn’t matter. For the first time, I actually believe that I can do anything… I’m INVINCIBLE.”

“I’m the type of person who likes planning. When you have a plan, it says if you follow this one direction, everything’s going to be okay. The problem is life doesn’t have one direction. Sometimes, you never know where to go or even how far you’re going. Maybe instead of planning my life, it would be better to add life to my plan.”

“There are some people who know exactly who they want to be, and there are some people who have no idea. I’m still trying to figure out which one of the two I fall under. I don’t have all the answers right now (I actually have more questions than answers), but what I do know is that I’m lucky to be loved. ”

“Some whole families are not that whole, and some broken families are not that broken.”

Okay so these last two quotes… I love it because it reminded me of my sister and me and how we look out for each other. My elder sister is refusing to undergo an operation (she’s very, very scared) and I have to remind her that I, too, have her back.

“Your little sister will always look out for you.”

“I’m looking out for you, too.”

We may not realize our goals in life the way we envisioned it to, but it’s not the end of the world. Every time we stumble and fall, we can just get up and try walking again. Or, in Camille’s case, dancing. 🙂

Five stars to The Year We Became Invincible. It’s a book I’m sure I will reread. ❤ Shout out to Mina for my copy of this book. Thank you again! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Year We Became Invincible by Mae Coyiuto

  1. Jho, friend, you’re living in the future! It’s still Nov. 3 here in Norway, and your post is saying that its published on Nov. 4. Hahaha 😀

    Anyway. Like you’re review! (as usual) That’s what great books do I guess. Making readers glad to be proven wrong. 🙂 The quotes were great! And I love love love… LOVE the book covers of the “Love Stories”! The fashion is so eighties/nineties-ish! My favorite time hahaha 😀

    • Hi friend, thanks for reading my review and for commenting! I live in the future, haha I love the sound of that! ❤

      Ohhh, the Love Stories pocketbooks! I love them! Yes, loved the covers too. It's what drew me that book series.

      I loved reading them when I was in college. I was never able to collect the entire thing and someone nicked some of my most favorite titles (like Sharing Sam and The Language of Love) sayang.

      Sana nga mag-publish sila ng new titles, I'd still love to read more of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

