Guest Post by AF Henley: Wolf, WY Blog Tour and Giveaway

At the risk of sounding repetitive already: welcome back to the Wolf, WY Tiny Teasers Blog Tour and Giveaway, and a warm hello to those who might be joining for the first time. For those who don’t know, we’ve been wandering through the pages of Wolf, WY and getting a quick introduction to the characters and locale by way of “tiny teasers” from the novel.

I’ve always been an animal lover and that’s pretty much inclusive for anything that walks, trundles, slides, or flies. When I wrote Wolf, WY I was living in rural, hidden bliss and finally had all the amenities available to allow me to do what I’ve wanted to do for a long time and only been able to play at up until that point: animal rescue. There was a barn, a heated kennel, a huge lot with a pond, and acres of trees surrounding all four sides of the house. We took care of everything from moles to fawns, ferrets to chickens, dogs to raccoons, and… well, you get the point. I got used to things skittering past me or flying at my face pretty darn quick. When I had to give that up and move back to the city, I missed it. Or, I thought I did… until I got up the other night to go to the bathroom and had a critter the size of a small dog rear up and wave all thirty of its legs at me. You see, several nights before that there’d been a centipede in my office and I’d had no choice but to end its existence when it surprised me. Usually I do my best to gather up unexpected guests of the multi-legged variety and reintroduce them to their proper homes – OUTSIDE of my apartment. This one didn’t get treated with as much love (I was, as I’ve said, surprised into an instinctual reaction of Oh My God Get OFF of Me! Squish), and on the night of my midnight visitor, the second of its kind in so many days, I’m almost positive that I heard it grumble, “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya and you killed my father. Prepare to die.”

I am, it seems, not nearly as used to the things which crawl through the night as I was before. I have a similar introduction, albeit with slightly larger teeth and far more fur, for you in this post.

However, before I get into the teaser and introduce you to the next Wolf, WY character, I want to remind you that I’ve got a giveaway going along with this blog tour. The grand prize is not just one thing, but several: a signed copy of Wolf, WY, a $20 LT3 gift certificate, and a Wind & Fire paw print bangle that not only looks cool but supports a great cause. Read through to the end to find out how to participate.

But on to the introductions:

Tiny Teaser: Introducing – Wolf #2

Fluorescent bulbs winked and hummed, doing their best to warm up and respond in the cold. It didn’t matter. Randy didn’t need the light to be any brighter to see.

“Holy fuck…” Both of his hands slapped the wall behind him, regardless of the shock of cold it gave his system, and Randy flattened himself against the surface. He remembered the wolf at his back deck. More, he recalled the size of it. And if this wasn’t the same damn one, it was Wolfy’s close cousin.

He already saw the headlines: Idiot city brat eaten by wolf in his own garage. It would be followed with a plea for everyone else to please, please keep the morons that didn’t know how to deal with the animals of the county out of their county.

The wolf lifted its nose and sampled the air. Then, in a gesture that Randy read as ‘dinner smells about ready’, it lowered his head and trained its gaze on him.

Run! A voice in Randy’s head screamed and just as quickly something else knocked it aside. Stay still! If you run, it’ll chase you, and there’s no way you’ll make it out the door in time to shut it!

Even if he did, would he have the strength to shut it if the wolf leapt at it? Probably not. Its shoulders were wide and muscles rolled underneath its thick fur. One lunge would knock Randy on his ass.

It stepped, not exactly forward, but on an angle, crossing its paws and almost gliding several inches closer.

Randy’s bladder twinged, his throat seized, but a groan still managed to squeak its way out. The wolf’s ears perked, it shook its head and stepped again.

“Oh, fuck. Fuck, fuck, fuck.” He was barely whispering, but he couldn’t stop the words from coming. “Please don’t eat me. Please don’t eat me.”

When the wolf advanced again, the pleas became a bastardized prayer. “Oh, God, if there’s a God… right now I hope so… I am so sorry for anything and everything I’ve done wrong.” He swallowed a breath of panic and flashed a quick glance at the ceiling. “Unless ‘anything wrong’ includes me being gay. Because if this is payback for that, then fuck you, the damn thing can eat me.”

The wolf was close enough that Randy could stare right into its eyes. They were eerily beautiful—gold, deep brown, and they were lined in a thick, black streak that would make beauty queens everywhere weep over its perfection. But the focused, direct stare was enough to make Randy weak in the knees.

Wolf, WY Excerpt

© AF Henley, 2015

Blurb

Wolf, WY

There’s nothing like a fresh start, and for Randy, still nursing wounds left by a cheating ex and harboring a deep mistrust for all things corporate, Wolf, Wyoming seems like the perfect place to start over. Secluded, quiet, and self-sufficient, Wolf is bound to not only inspire, but to bring Randy the peace he needs. The view’s not bad, either.

Vaughn O’Connell and his family are Randy’s only neighbors for miles, and while Randy knows it’s somewhat unlikely that a man with three kids is gay, it doesn’t hurt to look. When a misunderstanding brings Randy face to face with both Vaughn and his eighteen year old son, Lyle, Randy’s not sure what to feel about either of them.

But things are not what they appear in Wolf, and the closer Randy gets, the stranger the O’Connell family seems…

Word Count: 70,000

Genre: Gay, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Notes: Wolf, WY contains some explicit content

Book 1 in the Wolf series

Goodreadsbadge

Jho-sigstylediv

Purchasing Links

Less Than Three Press

Amazon

The Giveaway

On behalf of the tour, please join the giveaway by taking part in the Rafflecopter below. The prize consists of a ‘Wind & Fire’ paw print charm bangle (a portion of the sales from this “Charms For Charity Bangle” goes directly to Guiding Eyes For The Blind), a $20 Gift Certificate to the Less Than Three Press book market (free books!), and a signed, print copy of Wolf, WY. For all the tiny-whiny terms and conditions, please check out the t’s and c’s posted on the Rafflecopter.

** Please note that this giveaway is being offered tour-wide and there will be one winner awarded for the entire event.

ENTER RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY HERE:

rafflecopter-giveaway-e1420463655480

Please allow me to take a moment to offer my thanks for Cinderella Stories for having me today… I could never pull off these blog tours without sites like yours offering me their support and their time. Similarly, my thanks to you, as well, for reading and joining me on the tour. Best of luck with the giveaway and I hope you enjoyed the post!

Until next time,

AF Henley ❤

Jho-sigstylediv

About the Author

AF Henley_Avatar croppedHenley was born with a full-blown passion for run-on sentences, a zealous indulgence in all words descriptive, and the endearing tendency to overuse punctuation. Since the early years Henley has been an enthusiastic writer, from the first few I-love-my-dog stories to the current leap into erotica. A self-professed Google genius, Henley lives for the hours spent digging through the Internet for ‘research purposes’ which, more often than not, lead seven thousand miles away from first intentions but bring Henley to new discoveries and ideas that, once seeded, tend to flourish.

Henley has been proudly publishing with Less Than Three Press since 2012, and has been writing like mad ever since—an indentured servant to the belief that romance and true love can mend the most broken soul. Even when presented in prose.

For more information please stop by for a visit at afhenley.com.

 

38 thoughts on “Guest Post by AF Henley: Wolf, WY Blog Tour and Giveaway

  1. *CACKLES* Oh my… oh… my, my, my… Poor Henley. I mean Randy. Well… heck, both of them. 😄

    As for the centipede, I guess the North American versions aren’t poisonous? The Asian version I grew up with usually gets the ‘squish’ treatment because they are, in fact, poisonous. I was taught to since I could understand “don’t touch those. Grab something and kill it.” My parents added the, “Please don’t use your younger brother” a few years later… I was 9. They didn’t clarify beforehand… 😄

    I loved common house geckos though. Played with them all the time, much to my mother’s chagrin. She doesn’t like crawly anything. 😛

    • Haha, being an Asian, I can relate. I must admit I do generally tend to stay away from everything that has limbs, including possibly, the people (I’m an introvert). Lol. ❤

      Thanks for reading and commenting, my friend. Glad you enjoy the post. ❤

    • I’m pretty patient with most things that creep, crawl, or fly. But (in my defense) it surprised the bejeezus out of me! Which is kind of funny because I heard a similar story a couple years back from a friend of mine and I will admit to a tiny bit of “gee, you could have been a lot nicer to the poor lil’ thing”. 😄

      Thanks for stopping, commenting, and sharing about the post while I was at the day job. 😀

    • @Henley, haha, thanks! ❤

      I was raised by grandparents who was born around WWI, who lived through WWII. With the Spanish and Japanese influence in the country, my grandma was one of those who didn't speak unless spoken to. She passed it on to me. 🙂 I changed when I went to college though. Influence of friends. I'm glad I did, otherwise I would never have sent you a PM asking if you could include me in the tour. I'm really happy I did. ❤

      Cheers! ❤

    • Thank you, Serena! That’s awesome to read. 😀

      It’s kind of cool, the discount thing, because right now with pre-order in the class of gay romance, you can take advantage of two discounts (two, two, two mints in one!). One is for the 15% pre-order, the other is for their “Celebrate the Spectrum” sale. But I bet you already knew that. 😄

      Good luck on the giveaway and thank you again. You made my night! 😀

  2. Pingback: The Wolf, WY *Tiny Teasers* Blog Tour and Giveaway | AF Henley

  3. I do try not to kill and insect creatures but occasionally we all react like that. Bees are the only insects I will never hurt we all need bees. I’m enjoing the teaser and have the book on preorder.

    • Hi, Shirley! ❤ Thank you so much for reading and commenting! ❤

      I generally stay away from insects but I swat cockroaches. Lol. Pinoys generally ran away from cockroaches. I kid you not. When one is spotted, you would hear screaming and shouting and people arguing (go swat that, no, no, you should. 😀 It amuses me to no end. *Omg, I sound sadistic* I just mean if cockroaches were like snakes, I'd be the first to stay away but no, Pinoys tend to gather around snakes, go figure). And I know two people who cries in horror if the cockroach is not successfully eradicated (they couldn't sleep well knowing it's out there).

      My friends and family rely on me to do the swatting. 😛 I'm one of the few brave enough to go near it. Lol. Unfortunately, our warm weather here in the Philippines made for a very conducive environment for cockroaches, it helped the insects thrive. Cockroaches usually went out of hiding during the wet season and you'd be sure to encounter one. Argh.

      Anyway. Happy reading, Shirley! ❤ Hope you’ll enjoy Wolf, NY the way I did. 🙂

    • I agree, Shirley. And to be honest, there’s something that’s all kinds of cute about the way that bees bumble around isn’t there?

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the tour and thank you for your purchase! Good luck with the giveaway ❤

  4. Don’t like spiders, but I can take the small ones. Don’t like most insects but that means very little in the long run as the apartments regularly spray. No, for me it’s snakes. Just can’t. Phobia too strong. But thankfully very few snakes show up around here. Only like one or two a month so I’m not paralysed with fear constantly.

    You know what struck me the most while reading this teaser? “Idiot City brat.” Back in my rural days we combined the words “city” and “idiot.” Called them “Cidiots.” These morons who would come into the store for a deer, or worse yet a bear, hunting license and then wonder why the hell we don’t sell beer.

    I mean come on. Everyone knows you only drink after you’ve killed something and skinned it. Because by that point you’d seen too much. I never knew one person who lived there that was dumb enough to drink and sit in their lookout all day waiting for the buck and doe that’d help you live through the winter. Or worse yet the people who went drinking and fishing in their boats. Most people rescued were never locals.

    • Hi Jack! Thanks again for always reading and dropping by! ❤

      I dislike snakes, more so when I was a child. I can't really say it's a phobia but it's one of the creatures I react to (I am, I guess, a very impassive and passive person). The mere mention of snakes makes me want to run in a different direction. Now, butterflies and fireflies? They drew me in. Such beautiful, beautiful creatures. ❤

      • Funny note about your comment, Jho… in Wolf, en Garde (the second in the series) there are references to “flutterflies” although I’m not sure they’re quite as cute as the others. 😄

      • @Henley, I had to check what flutterflies meant, I didn’t know the word. Lol. I’m pretty sure it’s as cute and adorable as the others. ❤ Are you done writing book 2? I can't wait to read it. 😀 Greedy, greedy. 😛

    • You know, I don’t think I ever got past being a “cidiot” no matter how hard I tried. And boy, did I try. The only thing I really managed to get decent at was lighting a fire.

      I used to find snakes in my kennel all the time, even though the floor was poured concrete. I will never in my wildest imagination be able to come up with a story as to how they got there. They never bothered me though and most of the animals in the kennel seemed to be more amused with them then scared of them.

      Thanks again for sharing such an awesome story, Frost. Good luck with the giveaway! ❤

      • I would believe you got good at lighting fires.

        Lord knows you light my fire…..for literature 😉 .

    • Hi, H.B.! Thank you for reading and commenting! ❤ This post made me laugh out loud too. 😀 Like Wynter we were told to squash centipedes with our slippers lol. Well, my male cousins did, I looked on.

    • I had too much fun with this post — afterwards, of course, at the time of the incident I was a complete lunatic — and I’m absolutely thrilled I made you laugh. 😀

      Good luck with the giveaway ❤

  5. The only time that I saw a centipede was when we were visiting the St. Louis Zoo. I had always thought they were small. That was an eye opener. I don’t know what I would have done cos something that large must have made for a big clean-up. I think that I really hate flies!

  6. I feel like a bad girl right now for laughing at someone’s misfortune, but I can’t help it! Oh wait, it’s Henley! Yeah, I placing the blame on the author for writing such fun to read guest post and that very enticing teaser. A true teaser is it, now I really want to jump and grabbed my own copy, but I have still mountain of books waiting to be read. I bet if they have mouth they will be cussing me now for adding WOLF, WY to my TBR shelf haha 😀

    On a side note: I also hate anything that has abnormal leg counts *shiver*. Henley wrote, “I’d had no choice but to end its existence when it surprised me.” If it was me, I’d end its life so that he/she may be reborn into a bit more pleasant in my eyes.

    • Oh, yes! I like that idea! It was released back into the Universe so it could try again. Nice!

      Good luck with the giveaway — maybe with a physical copy of it you’ll have no choice but to bump it up on the list? (Where it will jeer at the other books most rudely, I imagine. XD)

      Thanks for commenting and good luck on the giveaway! ❤

  7. No matter how many times I read about Randy’s encounter with the wolf one thing never cease to make me laugh so hard: him desperately praying to stay alive while at the same time being unable to suppress a snippy comment at the very being he is praying to for help! 😄 So typical Randy! And this character trait of his will make for some awesome moments in a great novel! 😀

    That being said. I really, really hope the rest of the family is not coming to look for their missing members. 😄

    • That surprises YOU? *grins* Come on, I could totally see you doing the same thing!

      Thanks very much for commenting, buddy. I’m glad you’re enjoying the tour. ❤

    • I really loved Randy. ❤ There was something about the way Henley wrote Randy that endeared him to me. I hope Henley will write an extra short about him and Vaughn. 😀 *Nudge, nudge. Poke, poke* hahaha ❤

  8. Henley: “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya and you killed my father. Prepare to die.”
    Me: HAHAHAHAHA!
    This teaser was hilarious! Thanks for the tiny teaser!
    taina1959 @ yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

