Books, books, books! <3

MinaMy copy of The Year We Became Invincible by Mae Coyiuto which I won from Mina V. Esguerra (thank you, Mina! Yay! :D) arrived yesterday in spite of the raging storm. My husband (who received the package on my behalf) and I were amazed by the man who delivered it. Talk about dedication. I mean I would not have minded if LBC waited for a day or two. Book lover or not, the thought that someone was out there delivering my stuff in that wind and rain made me feel guilty but I guess that’s life for you. I wish I were able to talk to him and thank him in person though. So, to you Kuya, who delivered my book, thank you so much! ❤

With that out of the way, I wanted to talk about the books I won these past months.

Mae Coyiuto’s The Year We Became Invincible was released this month. You can check it out here: Goodreadsbadge

About the book:

Dear Future Reader,

If you’re reading this book, it’s either:

1. You’re my future partner

2. I’m famous and my writings have been immortalized

3. You’ve violated my privacy and these are not meant for you

Let’s hope it’s not the last one. Before this year, I had my life all planned out. This book contains the story of the year that changed my life (well, my life so far). It’s the year I learned how to be invincible. That wasn’t really specific, but I guess you have to read on to see what I’m talking about.

Love,

Camille

My package from Mina included a signed copy of Mae’s book, as well as  note that said:

Dear Jho,

Enjoy the book! Yay fast fingers.

Mina

Well, over a week ago I opened my email and saw one from her. I merely opened it, read it, and replied. Lol. The first one who replies gets the book, you see. Apparently I did it in three minutes. I wasn’t really expecting to win but there you go, I got the book! ❤ ❤

The package also has a synopsis from Mina’s book Playing Autumn and two stickers: the other merely enumerating the male characters in Mina’s books while the other said “Team Robbie” which made me happy because Mina remembered I was rooting for Robbie in her Interim Goddess of Love series.

Check out Playing Autumn here: Goodreadsbadge

And the Interim Goddess of Love series here:

Goodreadsbadge

On the other hand, the left book seen on the picture above titled The Death of Summer by Rosario de Guzman Lingat, translated by Soledad S. Reyes is the book I won from Rise last June.

Check out this title here:

About the book:

The Death of Summer was an award-winning novel that powerfully dissects the anatomy of romantic, delusional love. Its protagonist, Victor, a firm believer in carpe diem, discovers that once the heat of passion has waned, the only thing that matters is family. The novel spans several decades—from the heyday of the carnival in the 1920s, to the horror of the Pacific War, until the great unrest of the postwar years.

Goodreadsbadge

Last June I also won an ebook copy of Josh Lanyon’s Winter Kill.

About the book:

Clever and ambitious, Special Agent Adam Darling (yeah, he’s heard all the jokes before) was on the fast track to promotion and success until his mishandling of a high profile operation left one person dead and Adam “On the Beach.” Now he’s got a new partner, a new case, and a new chance to resurrect his career, hunting a legendary serial killer known as The Crow in a remote mountain resort in Oregon.

Deputy Sheriff Robert Haskell may seem laid-back, but he’s a tough and efficient cop — and he’s none too thrilled to see feebs on his turf — even when one of the agents is smart, handsome, and probably gay. But a butchered body in a Native American museum is out of his small town department’s league. For that matter, icy, uptight Adam Darling is out of Rob’s league, but that doesn’t mean Rob won’t take his best shot.

Goodreadsbadge

Jho-sigstylediv

When I held The Year We Became Invincible in my hands yesterday, it made me want to finish my own book—the memoir I’ve been talking about in my previous posts. I mean, I’m only five-six chapters away, how hard can that be? After all I did manage to write fifteen others before that. But I’ve been staring in my screen for these past few days to no avail and I try not to stress about it because it gives me fever and / or headache whenever I do.

I really hope I finish it by the end of this month so I can catch up on my reading. It’s really piling up. And I really, really want to reread Winter Kill. ❤

Thank you again, to everyone who gifted me with these books.

Here’s to reading, and writing! Cheers! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

