The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

I’ve been tagged by Claire over at the Coffeeholic Bookworm! Thank you again, Claire, for nominating me. Honored and thrilled to answer the questions. ❤

1 How long have you been a blogger?

I’ve only been blogging for a year and ten months. I joined this book club Pinoy Reads Pinoy Books (PRPB) at goodreads and some of the members have a blog and I was like, I want that, too. *laughs* I think I just want to put my thoughts out there about the books I love and hopefully encourage one or two people to read.

2 At what point do you think you will stop?

When I can’t read and type anymore? Which means when I’m pretty much dead because I don’t think I’d ever stop loving reading and writing so yeah. Maybe if I get Parkinson’s? Or if I become blind? Hopefully not. When I was in third grade (I was eight) I was contemplating about what would happen if I grow old and that’s when I agonized about going blind. Because of all the reading I did I was afraid I would (go blind) then I won’t be able to read anymore (I didn’t know there was such a thing as Braille then). I was willing to trade my arm for my eyes, it would be hard and painful to lose, but given a choice?

3 What is the best thing?

It’s just as Claire said: receiving ARCs, being in touch with authors and fellow bloggers, being able to talk to them about books we both love. I mean, when I was growing up, I was the only kid in class who loved to read. But then I had my best friend Jihan who did.

It changed when I went to high school in Quezon. In my third (high) school (I moved a lot), in junior year, two of my classmates read. Needless to say, I become friends with them.

I also love that I get blog awards. Lol. I love the awards; it means someone, somewhere out there bothers to read what I write and that’s a good thing. ❤ It means a lot to me. It’s a bonus I didn’t expect from doing what I love. 🙂

4 What is the worst thing?

Ah. Like Claire, I can’t think of anything. I love everything about blogging.

5 How long does it take you to find/create pictures for your post?

Not much, they’re provided by the authors. If there’s none, I get them from Goodreads.

6 Who is your book crush?

It’s always a pair with me. I guess I love the idea of people finding each other. For the moment I love JX and Kit – the characters of Josh Lanyon’s Holmes and Moriarity series. Then of course there’s Sasuke and Naruto of Naruto. I know, I know, that’s not how it happened. *laughs*

7 What author would you like to have on your blog?

I’m open to authors whose writing I’m sure I would love.

8 What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

House clothes, comfy clothes. ❤ I take my posts seriously, it wouldn’t do to wear something uncomfortable, something that would trigger my allergy (urticaria). If the weather is cold, I have to ensure I’m warm enough, if it’s warm, er, that’s a challenge. I have to ensure my hives won’t break out.

9 How long does it take you to prepare?

It depends on the book review I’m working on. Sometimes my post is unbelievably long and complicated I’ll have to work on it for several days, maybe an hour each day until I finish it or until I’m contented. Until I feel I was able to finally convey my feelings, or at least close to it.

10 How do you feel about the book/blogger community/culture?

I love the culture and the community. I love hearing from them, I love reading their posts. It’s where I get an idea of what book to pick up next. ❤

11 What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

Okay, I don’t really know how to answer this seeing as I don’t get hits much. Maybe more posts? Do reviews of books in the mainstream? Maybe do more giveaways? Maybe a combination all of the above? I’m not sure.

I would like to nominate the following wonderful blogs:

http://blog.jessicaelarsen.com/

http://iheartfictionalpeople.com/home/

http://www.librarymistress.com/

12 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

  1. I love your answers… especially the best thing you experienced in reading. Being able to talk to others about our love for books. I didn’t have a lot of friends who read, too. In high school I started with 1 Nora Roberts book. I thought she was the best, until I was on college, there was one classmate who introduced me to Jackie Collins and soon I discovered Sheldon and a lot more 🙂

    P.S.

    I love, love, love Sasuke. I didn’t care if he was bad, he was the main reason I watch (and still watch) Naruto 🙂

    • Thanks for dropping by, Claire! ❤ I started reading when I was four. We had this closet full of books. I may have started reading about er, muscles and bones (my father's lab notebooks in medicine) and the life cycle of water, but I soon moved on to reading Efren Abueg and the rest of the Agos boys' works and many other Palanca award winning short stories (their short stories printed in high school and college textbooks).

      By seven, I was already reading a mills and boon and Helen Meriz books. *laughs* I couldn't take the depressing 70s writing anymore you see. Even though disguised as fiction, I knew then, the writers had written the truth about our country.

      • I got really interested in reading when I was already in Grade 3 after my English teacher read Cinderella to the class. That’s why I love everything Cinderella 🙂

        I still have Mills and Book books, vintage covers… eeep! No Helen Meriz, but I read Gilda Olvidado twice. 😀

    • At that early age, I read like crazy. So whenever my best friend Jihan dropped by our house and saw me reading, she won’t interrupt me. Haha. She’d just sit beside me and take one of the books and read. Lol. In the end, we don’t really get to talk about the books, we were both busy reading.

      Re: Sasuke. Haha. He should have ended up with Naruto, damn it. Totally shipping the two of them. Yeah, I love him. He’s such a bad ass, Itachi, Kakashi, and the 4th, too. ❤

      • It’s nice you had Jihan when you started reading. Me, nada. I couldn’t tell someone about the new things I learned in a book, until I finally met a fellow bookworm in college.

        Sasuke, he’s the kind of bad ass i’d like to get affiliated with 😀

      • Oo, mahirap nga maging odd one out. College na rin ako naka-meet ng mga mahilig magbasa. Noong grade school at HS, hinihiram ko lang sa library namin ang mga binabasa ko: SVH, Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew. Naalala ko, ako lang ang taging tao bukod sa librarian. Nandun ako kapag recess. ^___^

    • Oh, I’ve read Gilda, too, and many other Pinoy romance novelists at that time. In fourth grade though, I shifted to reading biographies of Rizal and a few saints. Fifth grade, I’d taken to reading Sweet Valley High but then Regina Morrow died and I stopped reading the series altogether. Lol. I get that they wrote that to impart a lesson. I still didn’t like it.

      Maybe it’s because for me, Regina was a good girl who made one mistake. One mistake! But no, there was no second chance for her. I hate it when good people don’t get second chances. I hate it when they’re the ones who die, but then it’s always those kinds of death that resonates with us the most.

      • Oooh, I remember reading Sweet Valley High too… Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield, I hated Jessica at that time. Didn’t get to the part where Morrow died 😦 She was the deaf, right? But I heard about it and was also sad when she died.

      • Di ko maalala na bingi pala sya, twenty six years too long for me. haha ❤ Ang naaalala ko lang, Regina was described as goody two-shoes. Yes, it's sad, ayoko pa naman ng mga tragic na ending.

Leave a Reply

