Book Review: Jenci’s Trouble by Jessica Larsen

“Humans are shallow. They’ll never keep eyes on you unless you look appealing.” that’s what Jenci’s sister told him when he was having problem figuring out how to get noticed by the cool college girl who seem to be surrounded by good-looking guys he can’t compete, but wait… maybe… just maybe there’s a way.

*Click this link to download this free short story @Smashwords

My Rating: ★★★★★

My Review:

** spoiler alert ** I loved Jenci’s trouble because of the theme and because it was very well-written. It was short and sweet and it ended nicely.

This story is about Jenci, a simple young man who finally got bitten by the love bug. He had been agonizing about how to catch Nevena’s attention for ages when one day, his sister suggested he changed the way he looked (it meant using contacts instead of glasses and changing his wardrobe).

I can identify with Jenci. Not with the dilemma of wanting to catch someone else’s eye but well, in his simplicity in appearance and in pretty much everything in general. I was raised by my grandparents who arrived in this world in early 1900s. It meant living simply and by that I meant wearing simple clothes even when I had a closet full of really nice, ostentatious, and expensive ones. It meant going out not wearing jewelry even if I owned some. It meant not wanting anything that I didn’t need.

Jenci’s trouble made me remember my wedding day. Jihan, one of my best friends and childhood friend (kababata), took one look at me and removed her earrings and necklace. She said that the only reason why she wore those was because she knew I won’t be wearing any.

I was taught to lead a very simple life and I am proud of that. My worldly possessions which I bought myself were practically mostly books. Any other material things I owned (including my laptop, a gift from my husband) were mostly gifts. Even so, I can confidently say that like Jenci, I am loved. By many people. And it’s not because of my looks or my books. 🙂 This story warmed my heart and made me remember this fact. Thank you for writing this, Jess. ^___^

Jho-sigstylediv

About Jessica E. Larsen

Jessica Larsen discovered her passion for writing in 2006. She started story blogging in 2009 and joined various writing groups and eventually self-published her work.

When she’s not writing you’ll find her reading contemporary romance, action, fantasy, sci-fi…or anything she feels like reading, if not, she’s out taking nature pictures or creating digital arts.

Jessica was born in the Philippines and has been living in Spain since she was eighteen.

Follow Jessica here:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorJessicaELarsen
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7056160.Jessica_E_Larsen
Twitter:  @jessicaelarsen

Leave a Reply

