Book Review: Stranger on the Shore by Josh Lanyon

Rating: ★★★★★

Published May 2014 by Carina Press

StrangerontheShoreOMG. LOL. I don’t know what to say… Josh Lanyon had done it again. The thing is, I’ve said the same, exact thing after reading his Christmas codas in his blog… and his other works that I’ve read before that.

Josh’s works make me laugh; make me feel on the edge of my seat; make my heart clench; bring tears to my eyes; keep on making me guess (who the culprit is), render me speechless. Stranger on the Shore made me feel all of these. I just wish there were more lovey-dovey moments between Griff and Pierce before they jumped in the sack but that’s just me, I guess. 😛

I find it romantic that even as a kid, Brian couldn’t get his hands off of Pierce. Aww, really sweet.

My most favorite part of the book is when Griff was reading through Gemma’s journal and there was that entry in July 4th that made me bawl like a baby. It was like a punch in the gut. It’s just… I remember reading and going through my mother’s things when I was 12… trying to get a glimpse of how she was as a person. In the end, I stopped doing it because those books, notebooks, slum book could hardly give me an idea of who she was. Just that she loved reading, loved, Science… had a very neat penmanship, loved a cheesy book and music and that’s it. Put that way, she could have been anyone.

Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that this is why I love Josh Lanyon. He understands human emotions and he successfully translates those into words every time making the readers laugh or cry, commiserate with the main character or be mad at him and so on and so forth.

Then of course there was the mystery element in his books as a bonus. 🙂

Looking forward to reading his latest work: The Boy with the Painful Tattoo. ❤

Stranger on the Shore by Josh Lanyon [Goodreads]

Twenty years ago young Brian Arlington, heir to Arlington fortune, was kidnapped. Though the ransom was paid, the boy was never seen again and is presumed dead. Pierce Mather, the family lawyer, now administers and controls the Arlington billions. He’s none too happy, and more than a little suspicious, when investigative journalist Griffin Hadley shows up to write about the decades-old mystery. Griff shrugs off the coldly handsome Pierce’s objections, but it might not be so easy to shrug off the objections of someone willing to do anything to keep the past buried.

–Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Stranger-Shore-Josh-Lanyon-ebook/dp/B00I15VL86/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1403029252&sr=1-1&keywords=Stranger+on+the+Shore+by+Josh+Lanyon

–B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/stranger-on-the-shore-josh-lanyon/1118327863?ean=9781426898327

GoodreadsbadgeAbout Josh Lanyon

Bestselling, multi-award-winning JOSH LANYON is the author of over fifty titles of mystery, adventure, fantasy and romance. Josh is the author of the critically acclaimed Adrien English Mysteries series, including The Hell You Say, winner of the 2006 USABookNews awards for GLBT Fiction. Josh is an Eppie Award winner and a three-time Lambda Literary Award finalist. When not writing Josh enjoys gardening, film noir, fine wine, vintage mysteries, and night swimming.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/359194.Josh_Lanyon
Website: http://www.joshlanyon.com/
Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Josh-Lanyon-Fan-Page/107401402656849
Josh’s Blog: http://joshlanyon.blogspot.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JoshLanyon

Leave a Reply

