Book Review: With Pride (Princes of the Blood #2) by Megan Derr

With Pride (Princes of the Blood #2) by Megan Derr
My Rating: ★★★★★
Publisher: Less than Three Press
Main Characters: Kristof, the Duke of Stehlmore and a Paladin of the Order of the Voice, and Håkon, a Prince of the Blood

My Review:

With Pride by Megan Derr

With Pride by Megan Derr

Reading Megan Derr‘s books is like watching a movie (and a very good one at that, if I may add). At least that’s how it is for me especially for her fantasy books. With Pride isn’t any different in that regard and I’m so happy I picked this up pretty early (this was actually my birthday read, LOL. It seemed to have become a habit for me to read Megan’s works during special occasions). The third installment though, won’t be released until July 2014. Darn, that’s still three months away. 😀 But that’s okay in the sense that the books can be read independent of each other.

So with the second book, we learn more about this world.

With Pride is actually the back story of Kristof, the Duke of Stehlmore, and Håkon, a Prince of the Blood – one of the couples mentioned in book one. It tells us how they met and fell for each other and more; and naturally, the events here occurred before that of the first book: Of Last Resort.

I love the characters. I love that Kristof tries to be strong in spite of his shortcomings. I love that Håkon was actually quite the opposite of the persona that he tries to project (that he wasn’t a callous person after all. But when you think about it, Kristof was misunderstood too. He easily came off as prideful and snobbish even when it wasn’t really the case). And I love that in spite of their weaknesses, that they try to serve to the best of their abilities. 

With Pride has the usual ingredients of Megan’s stories that I really love: romance, fighting/bickering, fight scenes, the world building … etc. But there were lines here that were really a favorite of mine:

“Always he was second or third choice. Just once he wanted to be someone’s first choice. He wanted to be offered, accepted, with pride. Not from obligation or with resignation. He wanted to be a preference, not simply the least disappointing of limited options.”

and that last sentence of the book, especially the last two words. Darn. Megan, you really know how to bring tears to my eyes. 🙂

I wish it were longer. I know, I know. I confuse even myself. I complain it’s too long for my liking but then after reading it, I find out I crave for more. So yeah, I’d really, really love to read more lovey-dovey scenes between Håkon and Kristof. LOL. Maybe a separate short? 😛 Ah. I’m insatiable that way.

Jho-sigstylediv

About the book:

When his sister falls ill, Kristof is ordered to assume a duty never meant for him: become the Duke of Stehlmore and marry a notorious Prince of the Blood. It is one of the oldest honors and duties undertaken by his family, but Kristof feels only resentment that he must leave behind all he knows to serve an arrogant half-demon.

His resentment must be set aside, however, when evil is found lurking far too close to the castle—an evil that has many pieces, controlled by someone they cannot find and who always seems one step ahead of them. Someone who seems to think that demons are little more than toys …

Jho-sigstylediv

Expected publication: April 16th 2014 by Less Than Three Press LLC

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19162047-with-pride

Buy the book here: Less than Three Press: http://www.lessthanthreepress.com/books/index.php?main_page=product_bookx_info&cPath=92&products_id=576&zenid=7dateu08953r056367lht8jer2

Book 1: Of Last Resort
https://josephinelitonjua.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/valentine-read-of-last-resort-by-megan-derr/

Jho-sigstylediv

About the Author

Megan is a long time resident of m/m fiction, and keeps herself busy reading, writing, and publishing it. She is often accused of fluff and nonsense. When she’s not involved in writing, she likes to cook, harass her cats, or watch movies (especially all things James Bond). She loves to hear from readers, and can be found all around the internet.

Follow her here:

maderr.com
maderr.tumblr.com
maderr.livejournal.com
lessthanthreepress.com
@amasour

 

 

Leave a Reply

