Book Review: Black Magic by Megan Derr

Black Magic by Megan Derr

Black Magic by Megan Derr

Black Magic by Megan Derr

My Rating: ★★★★★

Publisher: Less than Three Press

My Review:

I’ve been trying to avoid reading this book since like forever ~ no, not because I didn’t like the blurb of the story ~ in fact, I loved it very much. It’s just that this is way too long for me and when I read, I don’t stop until I finish the book. Needless to say, nowadays, I prefer reading shorts.

But, Come to Me was released ~ the sequel of Black Magic. I really love short stories and I wanted to read that one, badly. LOL. And it bothered me that Come to Me has been sitting on my tablet for over two weeks already ~ left unread. So I figured, why shouldn’t I read this? After all, I finished Of Last Resort ~ Megan’s other latest book ~ rather quickly, and that one was only like 22% shorter than this one.

And so, I finally picked up this book and after reading it, I wanted to kick myself for not reading it earlier. ^___^

The thing with Megan’s works is that, after reading them, it would leave me undecided as to which one is my most favorite story of hers ~ it’s just that I love them all and it’s really hard to choose. 😛

Anyway, Black Magic rendered me … speechless. I just … I loved Koray very much. And I love stories about the oppressed rising above the tides ~ there’s something about it that’s inspiring. I have no words to describe how I felt after reding this. I was sooo just happy and feeling sooo inspired and I don’t know … jubilant? elated? 🙂 I know, I know. ^__^ But it’s such a feel-good book, though at the same time, I feel sad for Ambrose and Rakken.

I’m not going to say any more. 🙂 You’ll have to read the book yourself. Although the world is complicated, it’s such an easy read.

Now, I can finally read Come to Me. Lol. ❤

Happy reading! Cheers! 🙂

About the book:

When High Paladin Sorin discovers the brutally dismembered body of his cousin Alfrey, a much loved priest in the royal palace, he is left baffled as to who would do so terrible a thing to so good a man. But to find the answer to that question, he must cooperate with one of the highly despised necromancers, men who practice black magic, sleep in graveyards and feed upon souls …

The necromancer Koray, however, is far from what he expected. He is beautiful, stubborn, and possessed of a tongue sharp enough to cut down even the High Paladin himself. Koray is also possessed of a strength like nothing Sorin has ever encountered, and the power of the Goddess herself.

It does not take them long to realize that solving a murder is the easiest challenge they must face, and in order to save a kingdom they must first unravel centuries of lies and misunderstandings.

About this author

Megan is a long time resident of m/m fiction, and keeps herself busy reading, writing, and publishing it. She is often accused of fluff and nonsense. When she’s not involved in writing, she likes to cook, harass her cats, or watch movies (especially all things James Bond). She loves to hear from readers, and can be found all around the internet.

maderr.com
maderr.tumblr.com
maderr.livejournal.com
lessthanthreepress.com
@amasour

Leave a Reply

