My Copy of Guardians of Tradition

So, I’m already done with Bones of Contention though I still have to write my review. The discussion is still, of course, ongoing. And, I have a new book! It arrived on my doorstep today.

20131002_213535

It’s called:

Guardians of Tradition 

The Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan

It was written by Mae Astrid Tobias while the illustrations and the photos were provided by Rommel E. Joson and Renato S. Rastrollo respectively. It’s a non-fiction children’s picture book that was recently nominated at the 2013 Filipino Reader’s Choice Awards. What sets this book apart from the rest is that it features the Philippines’ National Living Treasures, their dedication to their crafts, and the tradition of their ancestors – our ancestors.

20131002_213943

Enclosed also was a CD recording of the music of Manlilikha ng Bayan Samaon Sulaiman which, according to Maricris, was courtesy of National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).

20131002_214014

The front cover of the CD: Mamayog by Samaon Sulaiman

It was a very pleasant surprise for me as I was only expecting the book! Thank you so much, Maricris, book junkie, and NCCA. I hope that you will all visit my blog on October 14 and 18, 2013 as I will be featuring both the book and the music. There are also nice surprises for lucky readers so you better  watch out for it!

20131002_214027

Back cover of the accompanying CD.

Leave a Reply

