On Cover (Story) Girl by Chris Mariano

CSGHeader

I joined the blog tour for Cover (Story) Girl by Chris Mariano. I’m glad I did!

About the Book:

COVER Story GIRL ebook FA

Cover (Story) Girl
Author: Chris Mariano
Date Published: July 30, 2013
Genre: Contemporary Romance

1) She has amnesia.
2) She’s on the run from her father’s creditors.
3) She’s enjoying her last days on earth.

Ever since Jang Min Hee walked into Gio’s small museum, she’s given him one excuse after another about why she’s vacationing at scenic Boracay Island. Rarely has Gio’s neat and organized world been shaken like this. Soon he finds himself scrambling over rocks, hiding in dressing rooms, and dragging her out of bars. But how can Gio tell what’s true from what isn’t? Their worlds are getting unraveled — one story at a time.

 

My Thoughts on the Book:

I really enjoyed reading this one. The book – and the protagonist Gio – showcases everything Filipino. It highlighted Filipino values such as the Filipino’s strong sense of responsibility (especially towards family and work), strong family ties, hard work, pagmamano, and many others. (The Filipino tradition of pagmamano involves kissing an elder’s hand or raising the hand to touch your forehead).

I also enjoyed the setting of this book – I’ve never been to Boracay and after reading Cover (Story) Girl, I felt like I already did! I loved how the writer described the islanders’ way of life, the beach itself, and oh, how I would love to try calamansi muffins! ^_^

And of course – there’s the main characters, and the story itself. I love their interactions – their adventures (made me want to go to Boracay, pronto!). It made me smile a lot. Gio and Min Hee are the complete opposites. Gio is the geeky, serious type while Min Hee is the happy-go-lucky though smarter one. I really like her because even though she came off as happy-go-lucky who wants nothing but to have fun – Min Hee is actually a very practical and objective person. (Not to mention mysterious). She doesn’t worry about what the future holds – she just plunges ahead. In my book, she’s one hell of a lady. ^_^ I’m glad Gio had his epiphany in the end.

Chris Mariano has a way with words. I hope to read more from her in the future.

About the Author:

Chris Mariano takes the same route Gio takes whenever she comes home from Boracay. Unlike Gio, she is yet to meet her K-drama hottie. When she’s not writing, she supports Eskritoryo Pilipinas, an organization that encourages kids to appreciate Filipino literature and culture. She divides her time between Manila and Aklan.

She blogs at http://ficsation.blogspot.com and tweets at @dementedchris.

Where to purchase Cover (Story) Girl

On Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cover-Story-Girl-ebook/dp/B00E8KBU9S

On Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/342321

Leave a Reply

